Hooded Tweed Cardi (#wip pt. 2/4)

59 rows of 610 sts in: -my god what in the world would possess me to start a project like this-

This cardigan is a bit of a gamble. By that I mean I’m putting a lot of time and effort into making it, yet I am not 100% sure what the final product will or should look like. It makes me wonder whether skilled knitting designers really know what they are doing before they create their patterns. Or is it really a ton of guesswork and revisions to create something worth selling? In any case, I have never done anything like this before, so I’m really just going based on a mental image and tiny versions I’ve made using scraps of fabric. I won’t be fully convinced of the structure until the life-sized piece is assembled.

While the herringbone stitch doesn’t require counting or inconsistent changes, it does lend itself to dropped stitches. With my lack of concentration, I’ve dropped quite a few without knowing it because this stitch pattern doesn’t run when a stitch is dropped. On the one hand, it’s great that it doesn’t completely ruin rows and rows of work, however, it results in me being a few stitches short a few rows later, asking myself if it’s worth undoing 5 rows of 610 after counting only 604 stitches. The answer is no. Since the yarn is fine, I’ve resorted to randomly increasing stitches in less noticeable areas in hopes that I can get away with it. Unless you look closely, you can’t really tell. For now my goal is just to maintain the integrity of the overall piece.

9 inches in: -I’m so close to being ready to start a pocket! Just keep knitting…

IMG_20170603_165839

The Inset Pocket:

After researching how inset pockets are knitted into projects and trying to translate this onto the herringbone stitch, I decided to invent my own method. This could be completely unorthodox, or already something someone somewhere has thought of–I don’t know. I more or less stopped where I wanted the pocket, knitted the width of the pocket until it was the depth I wanted it when folded in half, then brought my needle back and continued knitting the full length. Later on I will sew up the sides and tack this piece down to the inside of the cardigan.

DSC02118

The Arm Hole:

I made the arm hole the same way you would knit a button hole. I knit up until one side of the hole, bound off the length of the hole, and casted the same number of stitches back on on my way back up the next row. The placement of the hole was around the halfway mark of the length, on the same half as the pocket (the other half will become the hood of the cardigan).

Now it’s just rows and rows of herringbone stitch til the next arm hole! I think I may have measured wrong and it’s ending up longer than I planned…oops.

Leave a Reply

