Self Haircut

DSC02071

I’ve been cutting my own hair for a few years now. I don’t claim to be an expert at all and there’s definitely technique issues with how I get my cut, however I’m usually pretty happy with the final look and that’s all that matters, really.

When I was a kid, my mom used to cut my hair–and I hated it! Whenever it came time to trim the ends she would have to bribe me with toys. Lucky for her, I was very easily enticed by a new stuffed animal or game. I always ended up with some kind of china doll bowl cut, or a super boxy blunt edge which at the time, was super uncool (oh, the struggles of being 6). She always said she would only trim the ends yet somehow I always ended up with short hair I didn’t want!

In later years, I started experimenting with more expensive salon cuts. I was convinced that I could fork out a ton of money for a trendy professional to properly style my hair. This didn’t exactly work out in my favor either. I was able to find pictures of what I considered to be “beautiful” online, but those cuts were never transferable to my face shape or hair texture. Stylists would try, but I was never satisfied enough for it to justify the high cost. I was also unable to put to words how I wanted my hair to look, nor was I brave enough to let a stylist know I didn’t like what she was doing.

After that I decided that if I would be just as unsatisfied with an expensive cut, I might as well just go for a cheap cut when my ends were looking particularly nasty and just bear with hating it for a few weeks until it grew out. My mom had a few friends in the neighborhood that did hair, so I would stop in for a snip. This sufficed for a little while, until they all moved away, leaving me abandoned.

At this point I started watching youtube videos on hair cutting. As someone who loves to learn techniques and understand concepts, this really gave me hope. Of course, trying to translate a video of someone cutting another person’s hair to doing it on your own head is very difficult! I would explain these concepts to my mom and ask her to help me out in the back (micromanaging every snip from the chair). This worked for awhile too, but took way longer than a haircut should.

Finally I really got committed to figuring it out for myself. My go-to haircut really isn’t that difficult. Cut a straight line, layer, texturize… I did everything I could to make the process easier. I pulled chip clips from the pantry to help hold the hair straight and bring it to the front of my face to cut. I used string to tie a mirror to the towel rack so I could see the back of my head and use both hands to cut.

It’s not perfect, but it works. It’s convenient, it’s free, and if something goes wrong, I only have myself to blame so there is zero resentment towards anyone else. And most importantly, I do feel good about myself after I’ve showered and can see my new cut all done up.

The ability to clean up the ends whenever I feel they are getting wild is such a blessing. It just leaves my hair feeling so healthy and fresh. I do a clean up every month or so, so it’s nice to be able to do it from home in between my list of other chores to get done and not have to pay for it every time.

Leave a Reply

