Weasley Sweaters

Harry Potter was one of the franchises I grew up with. Although I was never a huge fan of reading, I thoroughly enjoyed the films (probably because I was never spoiled by the books). At the time when ugly sweaters became popular, I really wanted to get on that fad, but all the sweaters I tried on seemed to be too ugly, too expensive for an ugly sweater, or just…not me? This was disappointing.

When I actually broke down what it is that made ugly sweaters so fashionable, I decided that they were really just oversized, knitted, and a little rough around the edges. In fact, they were very basic. I started looking up patterns online and flipping through old knitting pattern books where really, all the sweaters were “ugly”. I stumbled upon this Weasley sweater pattern which was a very simple 4-piece design with some stitching for the letter in the front.

I bought my yarn (Loops & Threads Impeccable) and got started. I actually ended up adapting my initial sweater multiple times as I improved my technique. By the end, I not only had 3 different adult women’s size sweaters, but even a small dog sweater to match (from a different pattern, obviously).

The pattern gave the option of using the intarsia method to put in the design, or simply to stitch it over the sweater with a darning needle at the end. I wasn’t motivated to learn the intarsia method, so I chose the second option. It still turned out great, and I liked that I could make adjustments if I decided I didn’t like the position of the lettering or a particular stitch. It wasn’t too much extra bulk, although in certain places if you didn’t stitch it right, some of the background color may peek through, which was annoying. I found that it helped reduce this problem if you did the stitches in rows back and forth from top to bottom. It was also important that you at least somewhat plan out your design before starting, including where you would start, end, and connect the stitches in tricky areas (ie. the curve of the J). The pattern provided a guide for doing the standard H design, but for all other letters you were on your own. All the more reason why I wasn’t ready to do the intarsia method.

Overall it’s a pretty good project for beginners who have mastered the knit and purl stitches and are looking to try following a pattern, assuming you have the patience to follow through on the whole project as it is quite large. Although I did incorporate my own little techniques like grafting and adjustments to the collar, this isn’t necessary and following the pattern as is suffices just fine.

I love wearing this sweater now, and I always get compliments on it. It’s quirky but still cute and VERY warm. The only downside is I have to wait ’til the really cold winter months to wear it.

Leave a Reply

